Schedule

Thursday, April 22

8:00 am CST / 9:00 am EST / 15:00 Uhr MEZ / 6:30 pm IST
Welcome and Introduction
Simone Lässig (GHI)
Elisabeth Engel (GHI)
Maria Alexopoulou (Technische Universität Berlin, Research Institute Social Cohesion)

8:15 am CST / 9:15 am EST / 15:15 Uhr MEZ / 6:45 pm IST
Stories of (non)belonging in German population statistics (1933 – today)
Anne-Kathrin Will (Humboldt Universität zu Berlin)

8:30 am CST / 9:30 am EST / 15:30 Uhr MEZ / 7:00 pm IST
Stories of (non)belonging in German population statistics (1871 – 1914)
Léa Renard (Freie Universität Berlin)

8:45 am CST / 9:45 am EST / 15:45 Uhr MEZ / 7:15 pm IST
‘We Are Not a Colonial People”: Race, Sovereignty, and the US Army in Germany,
1950-56
Adam Seipp (Texas A&M University)

9:00 am CST / 10:00 am EST / 16:00 Uhr MEZ / 7:30 pm IST
Immigration Status Exclusions, Eugenicist Thinking, and US Racial Formation through the 21st Century
Payal Banerjee (Smith College)

9:15 am CST / 10:15 am EST / 16:15 Uhr MEZ / 7:45 pm IST
Just Different Shades of Racism? German-Speaking Jewish Emigrants as Victims of National Socialism and as U.S. Citizens and Soldiers, 1933-1947
Arvid Schors (University of Cologne)

9:30 am CST / 10:30 am EST / 16:30 Uhr MEZ / 8:00 pm IST
“To Live a Peaceful Life”: African American Asylum Seekers in the German Democratic Republic
Nadja Klopprogge (Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen)

9:45 am CST / 10:45 am EST / 16:45 Uhr MEZ / 8:15 pm IST
Break

10:00 – 11:00 am CST / 11:00 am – 12:00 pm EST / 17:00 – 18:00 Uhr MEZ /
8:30 – 9:30 pm IST

Plenary Discussion
Moderation:  Elisabeth Engel

Friday, April 23

8:00 am CST / 9:00 am EST / 15:00 Uhr MEZ / 6:30 pm IST
Antisemitism and Jewish Economic Life in Postwar Germany
Anna Holian (Arizona State University)

8:15 am CST / 9:15 am EST / 15:15 Uhr MEZ / 6:45 pm IST
Braceros, Colonial Migrations, and Racialization: Puerto Rican Migrant Farmworkers in the United States
Ismael Garcia-Colón (City University of New York)

8:30 am CST / 9:30 am EST / 15:30 Uhr MEZ / 7:00 pm IST
The “African-American Analogy” and the Racialization of the Guest Worker
Lauren Stokes (Northwestern University)

8:45 am CST / 9:45 am EST / 15:45 Uhr MEZ / 7:15 pm IST
Immigration, Crime and Race in the United States
Madhu (Miranda House, University of Delhi)

9:00 am CST / 10:00 am EST / 16:00 Uhr MEZ / 7:30 pm IST
Caught Up in the Minutiae: How the Prevention of Extremism and Terrorism Contains and Produces Racist Practices
Katharina Leimbach (Leibniz University of Hannover)

9:15 am CST / 10:15 am EST / 16:15 Uhr MEZ / 7:45 pm IST
The Nexus of Migration and Racism within the Last Decade of the GDR
Lili Rebstock (Technische Universität Dresden)

9:30 am CST / 10:30 am EST / 16:30 Uhr MEZ / 8:00 pm IST
Name It Racism! A Plea for an Intersectional Use of the Term Racism in German Academic Discourse
Rudolf Leiprecht (Carl von Ossietzky Universität)
Helma Lutz (Goethe Universität Frankfurt/M)

9:45 am CST / 10:45 am EST / 16:45 Uhr MEZ / 8:15 pm IST
Break

10:00 – 11:00 am CST / 11:00 am – 12:00 pm EST / 17:00 – 18:00 Uhr MEZ /
8:30 – 9:30 pm IST

Plenary Discussion
Moderation:  Maria Alexopoulou